All the good things 

My last post was about 2016 and what brings me back to blogging. There were so many things that held me back from my writing but by the end of 2016, I grew my wings and started writing again.

2016 in one word: SHIT 💩

But it wasn’t all bad. There were so many good things as well. 

In fact, I managed to hit my goal of ticking 5 things off my #Godlys100Things list. I set up my goals tree back in June 2015, after listening to a podcast from Jonathan Doyle. 




I’m usually a goal-oriented person, without goals, I lose focus and become unbalanced. Last year’s New Years resolution was to build my upper body strength. 


That didn’t go exactly to plan. But, I have learnt from that. I set that goal up without planning and preparation. This year, my focus is on my health and fitness again. But this time, I came in with a plan:

  • I started with a personal trainer with fitness goals that are achievable and realistic;
  • I have healthy competition to keep me accountable and motivated; and
  • I have the right mindset coming in to 2017.

This is where it went wrong for me in 2016. 

But that’s ok, because all the good things from 2016 should be remembered and cherished as well. I’ll rattle off a few:

In January, me and my boys rode in a R44 helicopter over Sydney Harbour. This has made me want to add to my #Godlys100Things list and get a helicopters licence (number 9).



My hubby and I took a couples trip to Melbourne with another one of our couple friends, Dalin and Em.  The main purpose of this trip was to dine at Dinner By Heston Blumenthal (number 54). But I will do a separate post on this shortly. 

While on our couples trip, I played roulette for the first time and won a significant prize, we ate at some very delicious places, went to the Mornington Peninsula Hot Springs and had quite the romantic adventure.




We rescued a blue-tongue lizard who was injured near our pool and released him back into the wild when he was better. This led to us owning a blue tongue lizard as a pet. #Crikey



In February, I joined a Netball team. In my 32 years, I had never played netball and I loved it.


I watched The Sound of Music (The Musical) with my 6 year old. This was his first ever musical and he loved it. #LikeMotherLikeSon


Erica and I ran-then jogged-then walked the Night Colour Run.


In March, my son was elected SRC, he’s in year 1. This was not a great moment for me though. Check out my resilience post. #ProudMum

I celebrated my 33rd birthday in style, by having a Frozen party. I, again, had never ice-skated in my life and I was terrible, but it was so much fun. I also enjoyed watching friends and family show me their ice-skating skills and some who had no skills at all.



It sorta went downhill from the 7 March though. But let’s continue with my 2016 highlights…

My son figured out the Easter Bunny. #WiserThanHisYears


In April, we visited my bestie, Tracy, in QLD and I took my son to Dreamworld for the first time. Her son Harry is my son’s bestie too.


In another double date night with Dalin and Em, we went to see Akmal live for The Comedy Festival.

In May, #OperationHalfMarathon started abruptly. It is number 52 on my #Godlys100Things list, but I didn’t expect it to be happening quite so early in my running journey. Although my goal was to run a marathon, not half, but this is a start. My friend Erica and I have been running once a week since September 2014, when we initially both didn’t enjoy running. It has been a fun journey for both of us, we are at different fitness levels but I enjoy running weekly with her. My Saturday runs have gotten better and better (even though it ended in November when I injured my ankle playing social Soccer. Again, more on that in a different post – yet to come ). But overall, consistently running (even just once a week has improved my long distance running and split pace). Now, when my friend Dalin decided to train with me, running became 2x a week which has led us to train for a half marathon this year. #WishMeLuck



From June-November (life was demanding, busy, and all that jazz). It became too much that I didn’t want to post photos on Instagram anymore. Which is where I usually go to reminisce. 

I’ll try and do the last 6 months of 2016 in FFWD:

I made a flower crown for my niece (Stacey) and tried to get my hobby with flowers back into my weekends, I taught my son how to cross stitch, my work dad/buddy (David) retired, at work we changed it up and tried playing netball, we celebrated our friend’s (Mark and Cathy) engagement party, my work friend, (Rachel) opened up a new cafe, Stacey received the Sacrament of Confirmation and asked me to be her Godmother, Erica and I ran the 9km Harbour Bridge Run, my mum and I went to the flower festival (Floriade), Erica and I went to the Billabong Yoga Retreat, I learnt how to play the guitar, I participated in the Tour de Cure CAN4CANCER fundraiser d 21km walk, I went zip lining with my niece (Katelyn), I ticked off number 93 which was to walk/run the Bondi to Bronte…phew… that’s a lot!



Then due to personal reasons, a dear friend came back to Sydney after living overseas for almost 2 decades. 


As life remained difficult, laughter, adventure and friendship brought happiness back into our lives. I called us The Sun Chasers. More about our adventures in posts to come!

I had some great adventures/memories (Garie Beach, Central Coast road trip, fishing adventures, archery for our team building day, discovering the sleepy town of Windsor, Rediscovered Bent’s Basin, bubble soccer, had some poker nights at home, and lots of fun moments )


I actually started drafting this post on the 1st day of 2017, with the intention of it to be uploaded shortly after. But a whole month has gone by and it’s been quite a hectic January that I sit here on 2/2/2017 finishing this piece.

Initially I wanted to say that 2017 will be a bigger and better year for me. My son and I wrote up our goals for 2017 and already in 33 days, were kicking goals. Unfortunately I know this trend all too well. I start my year well and by June I’m all fizzled out/overwhelmed and tired. I am conscious of my actions and need to make myself accountable. I need to be my own motivation. But I can’t do it alone, like I did at certain times last year. I aim to post more regularly and keep my blog up to date with my journey. The best feeling is when someone asks me “when’s your next blog post coming out?” I write this blog for many reasons, but the most rewarding is to know someone out there reads it. 

Stay positive. 

Stay true to yourself.

Keep smiling.

Leave a Reply

