24 hours

  
I was fortunate to be part of something awesome today.

Something that made me feel good on the inside and out.
I was in my element: 

  • doing something for someone else,
  • helping people,
  • being active and on my feet,
  • constantly challenging myself,
  • and having fun.

At the end of it, I had a huge smile on my face. Exhausted but happy! Most photos were taken at the end and you can see the happiness in my smile.

Today, my colleagues and I were volunteering for a charity helping pack candle bags for the upcoming Woolworths Carols in the Domain event. It was a simple task but required hands and time. That’s where volunteers come in. I try to volunteer my time as much as I can because sometimes that’s where I can contribute the most. Charities need money, volunteers & resources to achieve their desired outcomes. I’m in a position to help as that’s what I love to do and I believe my purpose in life is to help shape the world.

It’s a small thing but I know there’s a roll on effect and there’s a bigger picture out there:

  • My time goes to charities who have products to sell;
  • Money raised from these products go back to the charity;
  • This money allows charities to help those in need;
  • Those who receive this assistance are better off in one way or another;
  • These people have the ability to pay it forward and so on.

It was nice to spend half the day with like-minded people (some of whom are in my reference groups). To encourage each other and learn from them was an experience in itself.

I can technically tick off 2 items from my list today but they are big ones for me and I’m not content that I’ve done enough to say “done”. It’s not about completing my list. For me, it’s about being able to say I’ve lived my life, my way. And that if I were to die tomorrow, I can say I did everything I could to be happy every day! 

  
For the curious ones and if you haven’t seen my list, I ticked off number 6 Volunteer and number 7 Help a charity.

These 2 items have been ongoing for me and I will continue to do them for the rest of my life. 

I don’t put my hand up for every volunteering opportunity that I come across and this event was certainly one that I thought about before saying “yes, I’ll do it”. The email came out and it said candle packing. Truth be told, I took this literally, as in we were going to pack candles into a bag. I thought how could this be helpful? Should I do it? Do I have time to do this? Will my manager let me take half a day off? Should I just wait until the next opportunity (as I can’t volunteer every time)? So many thoughts crossed my mind. I didn’t ponder it too long but decided to bite the bullet and here I am today – so glad I put my name down.

The reason I mention this is because I listened to a podcast the other day, which was about how to make a difficult decision, when you are in a low state? Like I mean this wasn’t the end of the world or anything life changing, but it was difficult nonetheless. Firstly, I knew I had another major event this week already. So this would mean 2 days off work and this would impact my workload and therefore have a flow on effect to my personal life, due to longer hours. That was the difficult part. But despite that, I went ahead with it anyway. I thought this was a small price to pay and my work and family will both be OK in the long run.

The thing that I took out of that podcast was the advice on how to make those decisions. One piece of advice was “think about the highest principle – which is love”. And if you think about it, I naturally made that decision because of this reason. I hadn’t even listened to that podcast yet when I decided to do this but my mindset was exactly that. The purpose was to volunteer my time for someone else’s benefit. To help people. And that’s what I love doing. So that’s why I ultimately decided to do it. 

So the next time that you have a difficult decision to make, maybe think about that principle. If you want to listen to that podcast, click here.

I feel like I was put on this earth to help people. I don’t know how yet but for now, I’ll just do it however I can. Today we helped The Salvation Army, who are helping Sydney’s homeless youth. I know at some point in my teens, I could have easily been someone who needed support like this, had it not been for the love and support of my family and friends. 

My last volunteering event through work was to help cook a meal for the community that attend The Wayside Chapel. An organisation who provide programs and services to the community. They ensure that the most marginalised members of our community have access to essential health, welfare, social and recreational services. That was such an amazing experience as well and a real eye opener. Today, I felt happy. Energised. Fortunate. Motivated. And all of these emotions came from packing candles. 

Which turned out to be hampers, including 4 candles for the carolling.

   

  

We can all say we don’t have time, but the funny thing is we all get the same 24 hours.

It’s about what you choose to do with yours.

In our group, we had everyone from my level all the way up to our General Manager. I’m sure his schedule was 100x more hectic than my 2 events this week but he made time. On top of that, he is currently in a boot due to an unfortunate ankle fracture, but he put others first before himself when he took his boot off so that he could wear closed shoes into the warehouse. Personally, I’ve been up for 18.5 hours and the alarm is due in 5.5 hours. But I won’t let that stop me from living the experiences that life has to offer. And I’m still so excited about it that I had to post this up tonight. 

My question to you is… What do you want to achieve in your 24 hours?

  

Leave a Reply

