Purpose

  
I found my purpose after I started my #Godlys100Things list after that work conference that I had attended that July afternoon, all those years ago.

I wrote a list and to this day I keep working towards ticking things off. I have found that as I work towards ticking them off, that I had things on that list that aren’t exactly what I want anymore. So I either replaced them or kept them as [Thinking of a new thing to replace the old thing]. Because like all lists, they change. And as I work towards these 100 things, I realise that I’ve changed my wants/needs/priorities. In fact, I’ve changed a lot. #DJKhaled

Every day may seem similar but in actual fact, for me, every day something changes in my life. That’s important. To stay the same means not growing. And while I’m physically not growing, I’m growing in all other ways.

At the end of 2015, I made some new goals. I put them up on my ‘Goals Tree’ and wake up to this tree every morning. One of them was to tick 5 things off my 100 things list in 2016. It seems simple enough but if you’ve read my list, you will know that some require a lot of work. Some are easy but that’s not the point. I’m not just going to tick 5 easy ones and wipe my hands clean of any hard work. NO WAY. That’s not my style. 

  
So far, to date, I have ticked:

  1. Number 54: Eat at a Heston Blumenthal restaurant. Dinner by Heston Blumenthal opened in Melbourne and after booking a table in August 2015, the day had finally arrived. We flew to Melbourne to have dinner. I don’t know what was going through my mind but I happened to think that was ok to do that. Like I’m some kind of hot shot food critic that travels to have fine dining experiences. LOL 
  2. Number 72: Learn to drive a manual car. Which ironcally just happened today. 
  3. Number 94: Watch a fight with my husband. This was technically ticked off twice already in 2015, but we’ve enjoyed this so much it’s became almost a tradition. 
  4. Number 95: My husband’s choice: Kill a spider. The reason this was important is because I am petrified of spiders. The word itself gives me the heeby-jeebys. So I had to do this one for myself like my own version of the Tv show ‘Fear Factor’. Again I’ve done this twice now and I seem to be doing ok facing my fear. 

   
  

    
    
 Fear is something we all face. We’re all scared of something. But don’t let fear stop you. Let it drive you to beat it.

So you may be wondering how my purpose is built on silly things like this, but it all boils down to this. When I’m a better version of myself today, I can contribute to a better world tomorrow. Whatever new things I learn today, I feel the need to share it with the world. Because knowledge is power. #MajorKey

I may be one person, but I’m one person who cares enough to want the world to be a better place for the kids of today and the kids of the future.

My son tells me he wants to be a scientist and work with DNA to bring dinosaurs back. Everyone says that’s not possible but I believe he will do great things. And I need to help him along the way to support his dream. If I just nod and smile, how is that helping anyone? 

I don’t know if his dream is possible but I don’t care.

I care that he has a dream and he’s only 6 years old.

I care that he loves dinosaurs so much that he wants to see them again.

I care that he’s deciding his own future by setting his own goals and he’s nailing it. 

That’s the kind of future I want. Kids with big dreams and living life, not by what anyone tells them they can/can’t do, but by what THEY decide they can do.

Follow me on snapchat to see how I choose to live my life daily. I’m also on these social media platforms:

  
Click here to see my #Godlys100Things

Leave a Reply

