10 morning habits

  
There are 3 sides to every story. 

Your side. My side. And the truth. 

My side is this. This is my story. 

I am not always a happy person. But I try. I have my days like everyone else. These last few weeks have been a real struggle both physically and mentally. 

But you know everyday is a gift. It’s not guaranteed so why waste your day being negative?

To live a happy, meaningful life – one must be optimistic about life. 

I read these 10 morning habits one day and it made sense to me. So in line with my purpose to help shape the future, I’m sharing it with you. Take what you want from it and be happy. You don’t need to do all of them. Start with one. Just do it for yourself. Everything else will fall into place like a domino effect. 

1) Be grateful

So this is obvious.

Find the positives in everything. What are you grateful for? If you see the bad in something, think about what’s good and work from there. If you get the wrong sized coffee because they got your order wrong, try and see the positive and be grateful that you have a coffee at all. Some people don’t get the same luxury. Be grateful you have money to buy a coffee in the first place and smile. It’s not the end of the world. And abusing the coffee girl won’t make for a good mood for anyone. Don’t start your day like that. 

So that’s the small scheme of things. What if it’s something more serious. Let’s say you get into a car accident and your car is written off and you weren’t at fault. Ok that’s bad. And now your stuck using public transport until you can get a new car. So instead of being mad, be grateful that you had a car at all. Be grateful that no-one was hurt. Be grateful that you have insurance. You can get a new car. You can still walk and do everything you were doing when you had a car. You have money to pay for insurance in times like this. Nothing good is gained by negative thoughts and actions. 

2) Exercise 

This is very important to me. When your body has energy – you can do so much! Your mind is clear. You can do almost anything. Exercise is my me time. It’s my stress relief. It’s my thing. Make time for yourself because that’s the only person you can rely on. When you’re stuck on an island – it’s only you. So if you sit there and do nothing, nothing will happen. However if you sit there and work on yourself – watch what happens. Don’t make excuses!

  

3) Never forget spiritual connection

My name is Godly. But in no way am I living up to that name. I try. But it takes a lot to be Godly. If anything, I’m ungodly. Which is not something I’m proud of. But I’m trying. I have a responsibility to live my life as the best person I can be. And I have a huge name to live up to. My mum expected so much from me by giving me that name and I’m still working on it. After 33 years. Making time for God is necessary. It doesn’t need to be at church. Or announced to the world. Prayer can be done anywhere. At anytime. Have your 1 on 1 with God. He will listen.  

4) Plan a good deed

“Money doesn’t make people happy. People make people happy.” – Steve Wynn –

When you have good intentions – it won’t be hard to do. I can’t say I do this a lot or much but I try from time to time. 

Like I said, you don’t have to do all of these but start with one. 

5) Rarely ruminate about the past

No regrets. Life is for living. We all make mistakes. It doesn’t mean you can keep doing it. You need to learn from the mistake and grow. But don’t regret what you did. Just learn from it.

Don’t let failures of the past get you. When you fail, it’s proof you tried. Failing isn’t about winning or losing. It’s how you bounce back. Failing doesn’t mean stop trying, it means try again until you succceed. Failing helps you to be better. We’ve all failed at something. Who cares. But learn why you failed and keep going. 

Live for today. For today is all we have. Tomorrow is not guaranteed. So why waste your time thinking 

“I’ll do it tomorrow.”

“When I’m 30 I’ll do [insert your own thing here].”

“One day…”

Why are you waiting? What are you waiting for? What if you never get that chance? You’ll never forgive yourself. You’ll regret wasting time. Coz time is all we have. Money will not bring you happiness. People make happiness. Be that thing that makes people happy. Spend your time doing what you love. It’s simple really. 

6) Make happiness habit

Make joy, gratitude & mindfulness part of your daily habit. Amen to that. If anything, this is one you start with. No explanation needed. 

7) Set daily goals
Prioritise what’s important. Do them first.

Get the difficult tasks out of the way and the rest will follow. Procrastinating doesn’t get anything done. 

8) Take out a happiness subscription 

Don’t wait around for happy things to come to you. Make it happen. 

Spread the happiness. 

There were 2 others but they didn’t make sense to me so I won’t add them here. Insert your own 2 in the comments below to make up the 10. I’d love to know that someone’s reading this – so your comments are eagerly accepted. Heck, I’d love my inbox to be flooded with emails saying someone has commented on your post. Flood me. I’m ready. And if I’m wrong – correct me. I’ll take it. 

Until next time.

Keep smiling. And follow my life on snapchat godly153 | Instagram godlyscorner | Twitter @godlysaycon

Leave a Reply

