Being grateful

  
I’ve developed a new sense of appreciation this week. 

I was always grateful for my blessings but I am now more grateful than ever before.

For the last 3 days, my husband was away for work. This meant a change in my usual routine. It’s not like I’ve never done it before but I don’t recall doing it for more than one day at a time, since my son started school this year.

So the change in my routine required me to also drop my son off to school and therefore start work a little later. In essence, that’s all it really was. Everything else was still the same (i.e. prepare lunches, school pick up, work from home, make dinner, housework and quality time etc) but this one addition to my schedule actually meant so much more. And without going into the boring details, after 3 days of this, I was overwhelmed, stressed, tired but more importantly – I was grateful. For all that I have is why I am, where I am today.

Grateful firstly to my husband who plays a huge and important part in my life and our family. Put simply, I couldn’t live without him. No words could explain how much I underestimated his role as a father and husband. He is my rock and my everything. My homie, lover, friend!

Also grateful for my son – who despite his occasional moments of naughtiness – is independent and helps me out whenever I need him. But he also shows us everyday what life is all about – by showing us never ending love and affection. 

My friends and colleagues who are single parents. You are stronger than you realise. I thought I was doing ok – but I’m nothing compared to you! You have struggles no-one would understand until they lived in your shoes. I tried living in your shoes and I couldn’t survive 3 days! You’re an inspiration to me!

Lastly – for my employer – as a whole, as a team and as an individual. My employer allows for flexibility where some employers wouldn’t. My team have helped wherever possible to assist me during this time. And individually, my boss has been understanding of my circumstances even though he does not have a child of his own.

It’s funny that we need wake up calls or to hit rock bottom before we realise what we have. 

We may not always think we have everything we need. And we always want more. But sometimes, what we need is right in front of our eyes and we just take it for granted. 

👪 Hug the ones you love.

👏🏽 Be grateful everyday.

😃 And smile.

🌈 Life is beautiful!

Leave a Reply

