The BEST Ever! Part 1

  

Let me take you to the beginning for a moment. Not when I was a baby, that’s too far back! I mean just where I’ve been until now…

I spent my childhood in a place where dreams were not everyone’s cup of tea. A suburb in Western Sydney that people now call ‘Struggle Street’.

Let me paint you a little picture… In the U.S.A., you may call it the Bronx (like J-Lo’s song Jenny from the Block), Michelle Pfeiffer made a movie called ‘Dangerous Minds’ which I could relate to, kids in my school were pregnant at 16, when you say you’re from Mt Druitt people say ‘really?’ because they have this stereotype of people from this neck of the woods and overall this area gets a bad name. Hence the recent SBS documentary, cleverly titled ‘Struggle Street’. 

I started working from the Australian legal age of 14 & 9 months at a local Chicken Shop to pay for cigarettes, alcohol, petrol and my Nissan Pulsar ’84. After finishing high school in 2001, I decided to move in with my boyfriend (now husband) and his family and get straight into the workforce. 

I went to school purely to finish my Higher School Certificate and had no intention of going to Uni or studying further. I had no interest in anything in particular back then (except my boyfriend.)

This basic education limited my ability to get a real job because of my lack of any qualification. The only thing I had was my strong work ethic.

This meant I chopped and changed jobs about 12 times. The shortest job was 8 hours. The longest was 6 years. I went from any job known to man that didn’t need a qualification; from the local take away chicken shop, food truck, cafe, retail shopkeeper, receptionist, IT, child care, insurance, debt collection, back to insurance and now a team assistant. Now this is the result of someone who didn’t take their education seriously. [Take note school kids].

But this also made me the person I am today by the jobs I’ve had, experiences in these jobs and more importantly, the people I’ve worked with who helped shape the person I am today! My colleagues and my bosses (who were not always the most supportive) have been my mentors and taught me a lot about life and myself. My colleagues and many are now life long friends were the ones who I shared my thoughts with, who I vent to, share lunches with and we always went shopping together. There weren’t always good people influencing me. Sometimes, I came across people who were no good and even managers and these people made me stronger. I believe that people cross your path for a reason. There is always a reason! Make sure you pay attention to that reason.

That’s my life in a nutshell. My life, my journey, my future will all be revealed in my blog.

Now this brings me to today.

I have strong beliefs and I will voice them if I feel the need. My friends and family, won’t always agree and will set me straight too. If they weren’t my real friends, they would shut their mouth in front of me and laugh behind my back.

Only recently have I discovered my purpose in life and my path. I am now well on my way. I am happier everyday. Appreciating all the blessings in my life.

As you now know, I haven’t always been blessed. I have had some really tough experiences in my life and those will make their way to my blog in time. I’ve got as long as I have left to live, to share with you all. If my time comes too soon – then so be it – but I will die happy.

Recently the world saw the much anticipated fight of the century between Floyd Mayweather and Manny Pacquiao on the 2nd May 2015. I had no real interest in boxing until this point for 2 reasons:

  1. I like Floyd. [More on this in Part 2]
  2. Manny is Filipino and so am I. Although I like to call myself Aussie.

I jumped on the bandwagon and watched the fight because it was gonna be a good fight! 

The reason I was on TMT that day is because of my beliefs. Despite what people said to me before that fight, that day at the pub and to this day as I wear Floyd’s victory jumper; despite all that, I will hold my head up high and stand up for my beliefs.

  
For without that, I wouldn’t be true to myself. I would be hiding under a shell pretending to be something I’m not – and I ain’t doing that! I will take the good with the bad. And this is why I chose Godly’s Corner as my blog name (also thanks to my husband for the suggestion). I chose it because of the boxing analogy. This is me in my blue corner. You (the world) are in the red corner.

Hit me with your best shot!

To be continued…

*Broken into parts because I have a lot to say. In the interest of keeping these short… This was necessary.

– Godly –
1 July 2015

Leave a Reply

