Dinosaurs are STILL cool

  

They’ve been extinct for over 65 million years but that makes them no less cool. In fact, I think that’s what makes them cooler! 

I’ve mentioned dinosaurs in a couple of my previous posts because of my son’s fascination with them. The truth is, I love dinosaurs too. I remember studying them in primary school so this dates back about 21 [not quite million] years ago. Even that sounds like a long time ago!

  
When I mention dinosaurs these days, some people say to me ‘I love dinosaurs!’ so I know I’m not the only one. 

So to combine two of my loves, my son and dinosaurs, I naturally had to have something on my #Godlys100Things list that relates to both.

This is when I decided, that I needed to dig for dinosaur fossils with my son. That was something that I knew we would both enjoy and something you don’t do everyday. 

My 100 Things list is my list of things that I wanna do to live a happy life. Things that would make me feel like I’m doing something in life that makes me feel content. No regrets. Put simply, it’s like a bucket list. However the bucket list is a list of things you want to do before you die. The flip side to this in the 100 Things is that this is not a list of things I want to do before I die. This is a list of things that would make me happy today. So that if I were to die tomorrow, I would feel like I wasn’t wasting my life away. I’m simply living a life of happiness. The best part about it is that it’s not in any particular order and it doesn’t just get done whenever. I live it daily. Constantly trying to do something to tick something off the list or work towards something bigger. Something that requires more than just a simple task/action. 

  
Little did I know that this one, number 90, would get ticked off so soon. I actually thought this one would take at least 10 years before I would even start researching how to do a dinosaurs dig. I was clueless and in all honesty it was not something I prioritised – as it was more something I wanted to share with my son maybe when he was older – create a memory (that sort of thing).

But last fortnight he chose his book from the book club which happened to be what he thought was a game. I didn’t think much of it as I thought it was a game too. But when it arrived last Wednesday we were both as excited as each other! We couldn’t wait until the weekend so on Thursday night we decided to open it up. Again, I didn’t think too much of it… But what a pleasant surprise! Inside was a block of clay about the size of a ladies hand. Also included was a digging tool, a brush, a stand, labels, instructions and a dinosaur handbook.

  
I underestimated this toy. It was awesome. We started our dig and the whole experience was crazy real. We actually felt like palaeontologists. Who’d have thought that a small block of clay could be so much fun! I was slightly disappointed because I’d only bought one. Apparently this game/toy, has 4 different dinosaurs to dig up.

If you get a chance to pick one of these up, I highly recommend it. The quality time was awesome too. 

So Thursday night was spent digging and it got late so we had to pack it away and when I picked him up from school on Friday his first question was “can we build the dinosaur when we get home?” 

Again this was a great way for him to experience something cool and learn at the same time. He was comparing the bones we dug up on his encyclopaedia that he’d borrowed from the school library that week. Yes, you read that right, he borrows encyclopaedias! I think the last time I saw one of those was actually again about 21 years ago! Then Encarta the CD came out and no-one used encyclopaedias anymore. It was the early (simple) version of Google.

  
Pros:

  • My fave thing about this was the realistic way you dug up fossils and how the sand broke away from the mould.
  • Like my Leaning Tower of Pisa, this also now serves as decoration in my son’s room. It sits in a plaque as if it were an exhibit in a museum. I would put it out on display but by son loves it too much – he won’t let me.
  • I can’t remember the cost but it wasn’t expensive. It was <AUD$15

Cons

  • It got messy but that’s because I wasn’t prepared for it to be this awesome. I thought it would just break away in chunks and reveal the fossil bones.
  • It’s small and for tiny hands, you need to help the little ones connect the pieces together at the end.
  • The brush was useless after a while. Then I couldn’t clean the sand off the fossils easily as the bristles were worn out.

Verdict:

Another great toy that we enjoyed doing together. It was educational, fun and a hands-on experience. He loved digging, comparing the fossils to his book, sorting the pieces and putting the dinosaur parts together. So many benefits that the cons are outweighed by all the good things. I wouldn’t even call them cons.

Product details:

  • Product Name: Dig it up! Dinos!
  • Brand: Scholastic Inc.
  • Item (PO) No: 410149
  • ISBN: 978-0-545-79433-6
  • Ages: 6+
  • From: Scholastic School book club
  • My star rating: 9/10

Another one ticked off the list. #Boom

– Godly – 
23 June 2015

Leave a Reply

