Change

 

One winter’s day in Brighton-Le-Sands, I sat at a round table with my colleagues. The room was filled with perhaps ~170 others and I only knew about 40 people. It was a conference. The ones where you are supposed to mingle, network and get out of your natural team environment. I found most people still spent the break times with those they already knew – I know I did. I can’t get out of my comfort zone very easily so I tend to shy away from these things and let people come to me if they want. I’ve kinda always been shy like that. 

During the break we saw this guy chatting to the organiser and funnily enough my friend thought he was kinda cute.

Break was over, we all took our seats and then Sebastian Terry gets up on stage. He had the crowd’s attention just from his personality and perhaps his looks played a small part. But then it got serious. He spoke about his friend who passed away suddenly while he (Seb) was travelling. Without taking his story (you have to read the book yourself – it’s interesting) and to cut to the chase, that was when he decided to change his life.

  • To live every day without regrets.
  • To know that if he were to die the next day, that he did all he could to make the most out of life.
  • It’s his version of ‘The Bucket List’.
  • To be happy!

You can check his story out on 100Things.com.au

I still remember coming home that day full of life and excitement and saying to hubby “I met someone!” That was my kinda humor. One would think that would mean I was leaving. Lol. But then I pull out my autographed book and said “this is for you.” Seb had signed the book to inspire hubby. I must admit, I was excited to read his book first. I can say I’ve read the first few chapters but unfortunately time has had the better of me and I haven’t been able to sit and read a book in a very long time. I will get to it though. Maybe I should just stop blaming time and just make time.

Seb

“Why is this important to me and you?” – I hear you ask. Well ask yourself this – If you were to die tomorrow, would you be happy with your life?

I couldn’t say yes to that about a year ago. For many reasons. The big one was because I was just existing. I was not living life to the max. Don’t get me wrong – I would have been happy. I have a beautiful family, a great job, a nice home to call my own but that’s not nearly enough. I didn’t realise my dream was bigger than that. WAY bigger. 

So in chapters and in no particular order, I will take you on the journey that I have taken so far. I’ve said it before, I’m not here to change people’s mindset or create world peace. I’m not even here to inspire people. I’m doing this purely for a better life for my son in the hope that whatever small change I make now, that the world may be a better place for him in the future.

Let’s be realistic:

  • We can’t take away pain and suffering.
  • We can’t stop natural disasters or humans from getting sick.
  • Or worse still – from killing each other.

But I think, we can all do something today that makes someone’s life better. I’m not talking about a random act of kindness. I’m thinking bigger. I am no saint. Don’t take my name the wrong way. This is not a religious cult or preacher-type blog. This is just how I feel.

The thing I find is I’m learning something about myself along the way. And the biggest thing I learnt was it’s never too late. Clichè I know – but so powerful!

So, I challenge you to think of something that you could do tomorrow that can change someone’s life? It could be a stranger, your friend or a family member.

It’s kind of a smaller version of Neil Armstrong’s quote

“This is one small step for a man, one giant leap for mankind.”

What we do today, no matter how insignificant it may feel to you and me, it could be a massive change for the future.

My son learnt a lot about space last year in day care. He even started rapping songs that his educators found on YouTube and the order of the planets in the solar system. I think, if we get it right now, we can really shape the future of tomorrow. Not just his… But for all children.

The above is my son’s drawing of the solar system and to me, it represents a few things:

  1. Where our future is headed. Neil did walk on the moon back in ’69 but these days people (very, very wealthy people) can buy tickets to see the moon. Imagine what craziness we can do in 2040 and beyond? My son will only be 31 but how mint would it be if they started driving the space cars from The Jetsons? It’s not impossible.
  2. The sky’s the limit. We all know that saying and it’s true. Believe and you can do anything.
  3. History has taught us about dinosaurs and how they lived millions of years ago. That’s also one of my son’s favourite topics. He knows the dinosaur ABC and he’s only 5! What will our children’s great-grand-children be doing in a century’s time. Today (right now) will be their history lessons. Don’t you want to be a part of that? Don’t you want your name on a statue, in a book or on a Wikipedia page? I know I do.

In summary, living the 100Things way is how I found my life purpose! Which is to help shape the future. One step at a time!

– Godly – 
2 June 2015

3 thoughts on “Change”

Leave a Reply

